CSR Awards 2015

Tata Steel Hosts 32nd Sahara Senior National Archery Championship

Filed under Corporate |

INDIACSR News Network

JAMSHEDPUR: Tata Steel in association with Steel Plants Sports Promotion Board (SPSB) is organizing the 32nd Sahara Senior National Archery Championship (Recurve & Compound) for men and women from 25-28 January, 2012 at the JRD Tata Sports Complex. The opening ceremony for the same will be held on 25 January 2012 at 10.00 a.m. at Archery Ground, JRD Tata Sports Complex.

Around 500 players and officials from 26 states and 10 units are participating in the championship. Sikkim, Manipur, Maharashtra, Meghalaya, Punjab, Jammu and Kashmir, Madhya Pradesh, Bihar, Kerala, Uttar Pradesh, Delhi,  Tamil Nadu, Andaman and Nicobar, Assam, Pondicherry, Uttarakhand, Karnataka, Chandigarh, Andhra Pradesh, Chattisgarh, West Bengal, Tripura, Nagaland, Arunachal Pradesh, Mizoram and host Jharkhand.

The 10 Units participating are-Assam Rifles, Services Sports Control Board, Ordinance Factory Sports Control Board, Indo-Tibetan Border Police, Central Reserve Police Force, Indian Railway, Border Security Force, Sashastra Seema Bal, SPSB, Vanvasi Kalyan Ashram.

At the Recurve Round, ace archers like Deepika Kumari, Jayanta Talukdar, Rahul Banerjee, Tarundeep Rai etc will exhibit their talent and others like Jhanu Hansda, Manjudha Soy, C H Jignash, C Sreedhar will participate in the Compound Round.

Archery Association of India has nominated Gunjal Abrol as the Competition Director and R S Nehra as an Observer for this championship.  6 Technical Official nominated by AAI and 4 local official will also assist in conducting the events. The Prize Distribution will be held on 25, 26 & 28th Jan 2012 in the evening from 4.00 p.m. onwards.

Previous year the 31st National Archery Championship was held at Vijaywada. At the Recurve Round team Jharkhand and team SPSB were the winners for the men’s and women’s team respectively. Similarly, in the Compound Round team Andhra Pradesh and team Indian Railways were the winners for the men’s and women’s team respectively.

Posted by on Jan 25 2012. Filed under Corporate. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. Both comments and pings are currently closed.

Comments are closed


  • indiacsr: I want to participate in the programme. Kindly send me detail.